SLB calls Ohioans to action on two-person crew bill

October 23, 2015

two-person_crew SMART TD Ohio State Legislative Director Stu Gardner is calling members to action in response to the introduction of Senate Bill 229 (SB 229), the two-person crew bill introduced in the Ohio senate Oct. 14. The bill has been referred by the senate to the Public Utilities Committee.

“The call to action is this: I am requesting that every member in Ohio contact the Senators of the Public Utilities Committee and urge them to support SB 229,” Gardner said. “Email and call your state senator and tell them you want them to support SB 229 for the safety of our members and the general public that reside near the railroad tracks.

“Your message should be short and concise and to the point. We want them to understand that this is an important safety issue to you, your family and the public.

“I want you to understand that this is the first step. We want SB 229 to pass through this committee with a majority of votes. If SB 229 doesn’t get the majority of the votes in committee, it will die then and there.”

Click here to find your district.

Click here to find your Ohio senators and representatives.

Click here for a sample email that you can send to your senator.

Click on these links for documents to attach to your email:

Below are the members of the Public Utilities Committee and their contact information.

SenatorPhone #Email AddressAlt. Email Address

Cliff Hite
(R – Dist. 1)

614-466-8150hite@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_01@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Ruby Marcumruby.marcum@ohiosenate.gov
Kevin Bacon
(R – Dist. 3)
614-466-8064sd03@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_03@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Caryl Philipscaryl.philips@ohiosenate.gov
Bill Seitz
(R – Dist. 8)
614-466-8068sd08@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_08@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Amanda Connellamanda.connell@ohiosenate.gov
Joseph Uecker
(R – Dist. 14)
614-466-8082uecker@ohiosenate.comSenate_District_14@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Lindsay Riley lindsay.riley@ohiosenate.gov
Bob Peterson
(R – Dist. 17)
614-466-8156peterson@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_17@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Lucas Houghtonlucas.houghton@ohiosenate.gov
John Eklund
(R – Dist. 18)
614-644-7718Eklund@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_18@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Elizabeth Lustelizabeth.lust@ohiosenate.gov
Troy Balderson
(R – Dist. 20)
614-446-8076balderson@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_20@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Sarah Huffmansarah.huffman@ohiosenate.gov
Sandra Williams
(D – Dist. 21)
614-466-4857williams@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_21@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Brook Feltsbrook.felts@ohiosenate.gov
Tom Patton
(R – Dist. 24)
614-466-8056patton@ohiosenate.govSenate_District24@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Charles Trefnyctrefny@ohiosenate.gov
Tom Sawyer
(D – Dist. 28)
614-466-7041tomsawyer@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_28@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Cindy Peterscindy.peters@ohiosenate.gov
Lou Gentile
(D – Dist. 30)
614-466-6508sd30@ohiosenate.govSenate_District_30@ohiosenate.gov
 Staff:Maria Habermansteven.blalock@ohiosenate.gov