SLB calls Ohioans to action on two-person crew bill

Published: October 23, 2015

two-person_crewSMART TD Ohio State Legislative Director Stu Gardner is calling members to action in response to the introduction of Senate Bill 229 (SB 229), the two-person crew bill introduced in the Ohio senate Oct. 14. The bill has been referred by the senate to the Public Utilities Committee.

“The call to action is this: I am requesting that every member in Ohio contact the Senators of the Public Utilities Committee and urge them to support SB 229,” Gardner said. “Email and call your state senator and tell them you want them to support SB 229 for the safety of our members and the general public that reside near the railroad tracks.

“Your message should be short and concise and to the point. We want them to understand that this is an important safety issue to you, your family and the public.

“I want you to understand that this is the first step. We want SB 229 to pass through this committee with a majority of votes. If SB 229 doesn’t get the majority of the votes in committee, it will die then and there.”

Click here to find your district.

Click here to find your Ohio senators and representatives.

Click here for a sample email that you can send to your senator.

Click on these links for documents to attach to your email:

Below are the members of the Public Utilities Committee and their contact information.

Senator Phone # Email Address Alt. Email Address

Cliff Hite
(R – Dist. 1)

614-466-8150 hite@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_01@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Ruby Marcum ruby.marcum@ohiosenate.gov
Kevin Bacon
(R – Dist. 3)
614-466-8064 sd03@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_03@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Caryl Philips caryl.philips@ohiosenate.gov
Bill Seitz
(R – Dist. 8)
614-466-8068 sd08@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_08@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Amanda Connell amanda.connell@ohiosenate.gov
Joseph Uecker
(R – Dist. 14)
614-466-8082 uecker@ohiosenate.com Senate_District_14@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Lindsay Riley  lindsay.riley@ohiosenate.gov
Bob Peterson
(R – Dist. 17)
614-466-8156 peterson@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_17@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Lucas Houghton lucas.houghton@ohiosenate.gov
John Eklund
(R – Dist. 18)
614-644-7718 Eklund@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_18@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Elizabeth Lust elizabeth.lust@ohiosenate.gov
Troy Balderson
(R – Dist. 20)
614-446-8076 balderson@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_20@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Sarah Huffman sarah.huffman@ohiosenate.gov
Sandra Williams
(D – Dist. 21)
614-466-4857 williams@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_21@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Brook Felts brook.felts@ohiosenate.gov
Tom Patton
(R – Dist. 24)
614-466-8056 patton@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District24@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Charles Trefny ctrefny@ohiosenate.gov
Tom Sawyer
(D – Dist. 28)
614-466-7041 tomsawyer@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_28@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Cindy Peters cindy.peters@ohiosenate.gov
Lou Gentile
(D – Dist. 30)
614-466-6508 sd30@ohiosenate.gov Senate_District_30@ohiosenate.gov
  Staff: Maria Haberman steven.blalock@ohiosenate.gov